top of page
  • Writer's pictureacurlyengineer

What Sparked my Interest in Engineering?!



Hi everyone! I hope you all are doing well today!


Many times I have been asked this question, "What made you want to be an Engineer?" I love hearing this question because I love the story that comes with it.

In middle school, I had an interest in art. I loved learning how to draw cartoon characters and many more things. My dad kept me motivated in the art of many forms because he is a great artist himself!

Yet, before I was interested in art, I loved math! As a small child, my mom helped me with learning tools to understand math better for school. So my passion for that subject still continues today!

But in middle school, I used to sit with my parents and look at different home design books with them. The architecture styles and blueprints really sparked my career interest in the future.


I loved art and math. So putting those two passions together helped me to see architecture from a deeper perspective.


In high school, it was time to apply for college and my heart was set on majoring in architecture!


I applied to a particular school that had a great program. Yet, I received a letter that I need more architectural-related courses from high school to help fulfill the requirements for me to get into their program. 🤔

But, I shook it off and kept the determination to apply for more schools. So by God's grace, I was accepted into Florida International University (GO PANTHERS!). I started their program as UNDECLARED and I didn't know what I could study for my major.


Especially, relating to the passion that I loved... so I thought.

I remember sitting with my parents and looking at different majors from the school's website to find the area of study that fits what I wanted to do.


I was truly led by God to look at Civil Engineering.

So, I started reading the curriculum of this major and my heart began to leap with joy because this is what I was looking for! It was related to architecture but I found that it heavily involves "problem-solving" (my true cup of tea)😊.


During my journey, I transferred to two other colleges to complete my degrees in Civil Engineering (A.S. in Pre-Eng., B.S. in Civil Eng. & M.S. in Civil Eng.).



So, I am very appreciative of all of my professors who were placed in my path, taught me the curriculum, and shown me how to conduct engineering projects for the community!


Engineering is such a big passion of mine and I thank God for leading me into this path!


Thank you for reading this blog post! I will continue sharing these engineering-related posts and I pray that it will be an inspiration for another young lady who is pursuing their studies in an engineering field.


XOXO,

Mariah (A Curly Engineer)


Instagram: @a.curlyengineer

Business/Collaboration Inquiries: acurlyengineer@gmail.com

Disclaimer: This blog post is not sponsored. Any tips that are presented in this blog are only suggestions. You do not have to follow them.

13 views0 comments
bottom of page