top of page
  • Writer's pictureacurlyengineer

How to Stay Motivated while Studying at Home! | College Edition

Hello everyone!


At this time, school routines have now been shifted to the virtual world.


So, I know it takes some work to stay motivated while studying and doing homework at home.

So, I wanted to share my experience, as a college student, on how to successfully study at home. 😊



Background Story


Over the past 8 years... Yes... 8. 😂 Over the years, I've pursued my studies in Civil Engineering.


Going from an associate's degree journey at a local college to my bachelor's and master's degree journey at a bigger university.


So, I KNOW how it feels to build that motivation in studying, along with completing assignments and projects all at once.


Since studying is mandatory from home, at this moment, I thought about all of the times when I wasn't able to get to the college library, as I wanted while I was in school.


So, I had no choice but to get seriously focused at home when it was time for my school work.


Here are a few things that have really helped me through the years of studying at home, if I wasn't able to be on campus.



1. Find a quiet place to study at home.


If it is possible, find a place that is separate from your bedroom, to study, such as a home office, dining room, etc.


Your bedroom represents an environment of relaxation. So, other areas of the home can keep your mind in a more focused state.


Yet, if your bedroom is the only option and you have a desk, then I recommend three things.

  • Face your desk towards a window to feel as if you are not closed in a small space.

  • Face your desk towards a wall, if you are someone who gets easily distracted.

  • Always keep your bed out of your view while you're studying. This will help you to not prolong your study time.

If your bedroom is the only option and you do not have a desk, I suggest getting a bean bag or a big comfortable chair that you can continue to successfully study.



2. Create a work environment.


Creating your work environment helps you to stay organized throughout your study session.

  • Create a check-off list of the study material that you have to cover for this day.

  • Set up your laptops, tablets, and desktop computers, as your electronic resources.

  • Set up your books, notebooks and any other tools for the subjects that you will be studying for that day.

  • Order the study material from easy to challenging. This will help with a good time flow for each subject.

  • More importantly, keep your area as organized as possible for your mind to focus on one thing at a time.


3. Turn your notifications OFF!


If you are someone, who gets easily distracted by their phone, then please turn your notifications off while you are studying.


Your mind will be able to focus better when you don't see that screen constantly appearing in your peripheral vision.


4. Choose your study music.


Now, this is my FAVORITE part of studying. While in college, I learned how my mind focuses while I listen to music.


I will break it down from lyrical to non-lyrical music.

  • If I'm working on repetitious assignments like non-word math problems or engineering analysis problems that are not too challenging, then I would listen to calm or slightly upbeat lyrical music.

  • If I'm working on a writing assignment or engineering problems that are more challenging, then I would listen to calm non-lyrical music.


This study music system has helped me so much in keeping my mind focused and my workflow at a steady pace.


Here are the links to my favorite playlists from Spotify that I like to listen to when I work.





5. Take some breaks.


If you know that your study session is going to be a long one, then I 100% recommend for you to take breaks!


Taking breaks will keep the mind from getting tired, easily.


I, personally, like to set alarms for when it is time for me to take a break.


I would usually work for an hour, then I would take a 10-minute break. Yet, it is best to work for 30 minutes, then take a break.


Break Time: Walk around, get a healthy snack, drink water (keep it with you during your study time, as well), play a little brain game on your phone for a couple of minutes. When you're ready, resume your study session.


6. Dress for your work environment.


It's good to dress for your study session. This will allow your mind to shift in that state of productivity.


Not saying that you have to be in professional clothes while your studying, but dress as if you are going to school or your normal learning environment. So, no pajamas! Lol



I hope these tips were helpful for you all, especially during this time.


Please stay motivated, don't get discouraged, keep your head up because YOU ALREADY GOT THE VICTORY OVER THIS SPRING 2020 SEMESTER!


Finish STRONG y'all!


XOXO,

Mariah (A Curly Engineer)


Instagram: @a.curlyengineer

Business/Collaboration Inquiries: acurlyengineer@gmail.com


Disclaimer: This blog post is not sponsored. Any tips that are presented in this blog are only suggestions. You do not have to follow them.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page