top of page
  • Writer's pictureacurlyengineer

Spring 2020 Regimen for my 3C/4A Naturally Curly Hair!


Happy Spring everyone!


What a beautiful time of the year it is! As the season changes, our hair tends to change as well due to the elements in the air. Sometimes, our hair products would need to change for the fulfillment of our hair needs during this time.


So, here are four things that I am changing for my Spring hair regimen to maintain moisture retention, reduce hair breakage and maintain hair growth and length retention!


1. Have a good Cleansing Routine to Maintain Moisture Retention


Since the weather is warmer now, my hair naturally dries faster and doesn't hold on to moisture as long as it did in the winter months.


It is very important to choose cleansers that are not harsh (drying) to your scalp and hair strands. I, personally, like gentle cleansers that moisturize, hydrate and repair my scalp and hair.


Routine:

  • I usually cleanse my hair, weekly.

  • If my hair doesn't need a full cleanse, then I would reach for a Co-wash (twice a month, if needed).


*PLEASE NOTE that co-washes do not replace your shampoos. They only lightly cleanse the hair and provide added moisture, when needed.


Products I use:


Clarifiers

If you have a lot of build-up from protective styles, I would recommend natural clarifiers, such as apple cider vinegar rinses and clay washes/clay masks. These natural clarifiers give your hair all the nutrients, balance and restoration that is needed.


Check out these videos for more information on Clay Washes & Clay Masks!





2. Condition & Deep Condition (Especially) to Maintain Moisture, Hair Growth & Length Retention


From my 12 years (and counting) experience in this natural hair journey, I believe without a doubt that conditioning and deep conditioning are the most important steps in a curly hair routine!


Conditioning restores quick moisture to the hair strands and aids in the detangling process. Deep conditioning deeply penetrates moisture in the hair strands at a longer period of time and aids your hair to retain moisture longer throughout the week.


Routine:

  • I like to condition/deep condition my hair weekly after I properly cleanse my hair.

  • I usually deep condition my hair for 15 to 30 minutes (sometimes longer if needed).


Products I use:


Check out these videos for more information on my favorite conditioners and deep conditioners!




3. Using Moisturizing & Strengthening Products to Maintain Hair Health throughout the Week!



To retain the good health of my hair from my wash day routine, I love to use products that aid in moisture and strength. Keeping your hair moisturized throughout the week, with your favorite products, leads to success in length retention!


For my hair, in particular, I love leave-in conditioners whether they are in spray form or cream form. Leave-in conditioners serve an important purpose to give your hair a moisture base. They are not usually used as stylers.


To seal in the moisture from the leave-in conditioner, I love to use curl-defining creams, curl-enhancing creams, and hair puddings. These curl creams have multiple purposes such as adding moisture & strength along with being stylers for your hair.


Routine:

  • After I wash and condition my hair, I always apply a leave-in conditioner.

  • Then, I follow up with hair cream.

  • Lastly, I seal my hair with a light oil blend (following the Liquid-Cream-Oil method).

  • Throughout the week, I monitor my hair and refresh it, when needed, with a leave-in spray + cream + oil.

Products I use: (I prefer to use products of the same brand)


Check out these videos on how I moisturize my hair for styling!




4. Using Low Maintenance Styling Methods to Help Maintain Moisture & Length Retention


Low maintenance styles have been my best friends since Day 1, lol! These hairstyles aid in healthy length retention, reduce the amount of hair manipulation and hair stress.


Some of my Favorite Low Maintenance Hairstyles:

  • Twists

  • Braids

  • Twist Outs

  • Flat Twist Outs


Check out these videos on how I achieve my low maintenance styles!




I love to keep these styles as simple as possible. We do not want this hair journey to be complicated!


Thank you so much for reading this blog post! Be on the lookout for more posts on my natural hair journey, in the near future! 😊❤


XOXO,

Mariah (A Curly Engineer)


Instagram: @a.curlyengineer

Business/Collaboration Inquiries: acurlyengineer@gmail.com


Disclaimer: This blog post is not sponsored. Any tips that are presented in this blog are only suggestions. You do not have to follow them.

58 views0 comments
bottom of page